Trey lessons from 1999 Guitar World magazine

Started by Stecks, November 28, 2012, 11:56:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

picture_of_nectar

sigh...just when I start to feel better about my playing I read something like this and realize how much i don't know...
Guitars: Paul Languedoc, Matt Atringer, David Myka, Ron Thorn

Amps: '65 Princeton Reverb, Clark '59 Bassman clone

Stecks

Quote from: MomaDan on November 29, 2012, 11:08:12 PM
Quote from: webephishin on November 28, 2012, 07:37:16 PM
I totally wish I new the language he's speaking in....sounds really good, but I might understand 10% of it at the most haha. I'm a self-taught guitarist so I'm very limited in terms of music communication for guitar.  With that said, thanks for sharing these- they're interesting to read despite my lack of terminology of scales/notes/dominants/7ths/chords/you get the idea  ;D

Yes I am sort of in this realm as well. Living with a two other musicians and jamming all the time has really helped the last couple months. Its just not the same as playing along to loops

Yep.  Great for your timing - plus it forces you to listen, as well.  Its like visiting certain types of websites vs. having a girlfriend. :)
Schecter C1 Classic - Takamine EG334BC acoustic/electric.  Tuner>volume>VOX wah>TS9> Morley ABY selector/split/combiner, PathA:CS9>BF2>DigiDelay, PathB:envelope filter>AD9, 1971 Fender Twin (slightly modded) amplifier

"Remember:  information is not knowledge; knowledge is not wisdom; wisdom is not truth; truth is not beauty; beauty is not love; love is not music; music is THE BEST." - FZ

Stecks

Quote from: picture_of_nectar on November 30, 2012, 12:06:12 AM
sigh...just when I start to feel better about my playing I read something like this and realize how much i don't know...