Main Menu

Patch Cables

Started by fulltone1989, May 11, 2012, 07:08:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fulltone1989

I'm currently using some patch cables that sound good to me, but the lengths are a bit constricting and I'm afraid they may fail on me at a gig because of the stresses on the cables. Also, building my own would be cheaper than buying new ones. Long story short, I'm thinking of soldering my own. Is this difficult to do? I have no experience soldering. Isn't all it is is a L, R, and ground?

What type of cable would you folks recommend for this project? I was thinking either Evidence Audio Monorails or Mogami 2524's for the cable part, and either a GLS pancake jack (saves space), or a switchcraft or neutrik offering but please suggest any model #'s you're familiar with.

Also, what's a good soldering iron for this project?\

I've been researching but the general consensus on the web is that everyone does it differently.

Thanks for any help!
Guitars: Gibson ES-339 and LP studio w/ grovers and WCR Fillmores. Simon and Patrick Showcase Rosewood CW, PRS SE Semi Hollow w/ mods, modded Ibanez MC300NT
Amps: Groove Tubes Soul-O 45, Fuchs ODS 50 mod - EVM12L, Emi RW&B, and Weber Cali cabs
Ardx20 w/ Amaze0 in the loop.

IamWILSON

I actually followed Poster's advice about Mogami 2524's and couldn't be happier.  I am mostly using the planet waves solderless patch cables, and am very happy with them, but I got some of the mogami 2524's made with the GLS pancake jacks and they are holding up great, even with all the weird twisting I've done to a couple of them.  And if you wanted to try the PW solderless, you can get them delivered from Amazon for like $40 to make 5 cables, so that isn't too bad.