Maxon OD9, Ts808, or Ts9/808

Started by YouEnjoyMyReba, October 27, 2009, 12:53:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YouEnjoyMyReba

Ive been using 2 Ts9/808 (silver) for a couple of years now and was pleased when i first got them but not so much anymore.  I was thinkning about ordering  either a Maxon OD-9/808, Ts808, or a Ts9/808 with no silver mod and was wondering if anybody could make any recommendations.  Also if anybody knows anything about the Ts808 true vintage mod, that would be helpful.  Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
LP Gibson Studio> Whammy II (currently not in rig)> Vox wah 847 (garmopat mod)>Ts9 (silver) X2> BiComp> Boomerang+> FDR '65 reissue

picture_of_nectar

I have one OD9(silver) and one TS9(silver). The differance is pretty subtle, but I'd say the OD is heavier in the Mids and the TS9 sounds a bit thinner. I run the OD9 for my dirty overdriive and the TS9 for cleans. Analogman claims to prefer the OD tone, but I'd say it's splitting hairs.

Basically I like the True bypass switch of the OD9 and will probably replace the TS9 with another OD9 at some point. One thing, because of the different switch I find the OD9 a bit harder to stomp on and off.

I had a True Vintage 808 at one time, it had a nice warm 'bluesy' tone. Kinda wish i had held onto that one.
Guitars: Paul Languedoc, Matt Atringer, David Myka, Ron Thorn

Amps: '65 Princeton Reverb, Clark '59 Bassman clone

picture_of_nectar

I have considered picking up an Analogman King of Tone.

Also heard good things about the Fulltone.

But i'm pretty happy with the tubescreamers and it's not like I'm wearing them out...
Guitars: Paul Languedoc, Matt Atringer, David Myka, Ron Thorn

Amps: '65 Princeton Reverb, Clark '59 Bassman clone

YouEnjoyMyReba

poster ive seen ur posts about the clark gainster. how would u compare it to the Ts9/808? do u have a link where i could hear the gainster?