Howdy Y'All

Started by CaptainPeyote, October 30, 2012, 01:10:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CaptainPeyote

Hello SD!

Can't believe I've been a guitarist and a Phish fan this long, and haven't been active here yet.  I think I joined about a year ago, but didn't bookmark the site and forgot about it until now.

My name's Justin, I live in Milwaukee, and I'm a new dad who quit his job to go back to school for Electrical Engineering, mostly to support my hobby which is electronics for musicians.  Before that, I spent several years as a live sound engineer doing concert production and installation work.  I build effects pedals and have a small business making custom circuit boards for music projects and building gear for some local and national touring acts.  I brew heady beer when I have time & inclination, and like to discuss dangerous topics like politics, religion, and the merits of Ross-style comps vs. optical compression.  But for all our benefits, I'll skip the first two topics while I'm here.   ::)

Glad to be here.   :)

IamWILSON

Welcome Captain! 

I haven't really checked in for a while, but since you have a background in electronics, maybe you can clear something up for me as far as the "ross-style comps vs. optical compression" that you mentioned.  What is the difference? I've got a couple Ross compressors, a Keeley comp, and just recently got a 3leaf pwnzor (stupidest pedal name ever), but I'm very impressed with its transparency in sound and feel.  I bought it for my bass playing, but may end up using it for my guitars too. 

And what are some of your favorite brews?  As a big Guinness fan, I've always like the the stouts, but it's hard to pass up some IPA's, porters, and browns. 

And what bands did you see at Milwaukee fest this past summer?