Looking for a new amp

Started by Deadicated Phan, July 10, 2014, 10:33:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Deadicated Phan

Hey guys,

So I'm leaving for college in a month (UVM, phuck ya!) and am in need of a new amp since the twin won't fit in a dorm  :D I'm looking for a smaller one, something that will have a good all around tone, specifically good for trey stuff but I want something that's also good for jazz since that's what I'm majoring in, 1x12 would be ideal cause I just got a celestion gold that I've been loving. I've sorta narrowed it down to a Deluxe RI, or a Mesa Express 5:25, but I'm not sure either are exactly what I want, since I've heard pretty mixed feelings about the RIs and I'm not sure the express is what I want tone wise, so I'd love to hear your opinions on it!
RMC 3>Whammy 4>AM ts-9 Brown>Maxon OD808>GCX--Mutron 3+>Boss Octave>DOD 250+>Phase 100>DM2000>Microverb 1>Boomerang+

Guitar: PRS Hollowbody II, Fender American Strat w/ Custom Shop Fat 50s
Amp: 1965 Fender Deluxe Amp, 1972 Blackfaced Twin Reverb
Cabs: Deluxe w/ Celestial Gold, Twin w/ stock speakers, Marshall 4x12 w/ Emi. Red, White, and Blues, Hard Truckers JG-1 w/ JBL K120 (looking for another speaker to go with it)

Down_With_Sco

I was gonna say a Princeton Reverb, but yea a Deluxe Reverb or Express 5:25 would both be great selections. I'd recommend the Express if it's in your price range; they're pretty versatile.
Guitars: 2006 Gibson Les Paul standard, 1997 Fender Stratocaster, 90's Fender Telecaster, Xavier and Aria acoustics

Pedals: Furman SPB-8C; Epigaze Audio Neutrino buffer > RMC Wizard > Whammy DT > Korg pitchblack > Maxon AF9 > Maxon OD9 silver x2 > Analogman 2 knob compRossor > Analogman Astrotone fuzz > Black Cat mini trem > Black Cat Vibe > Boss 500FMH volume > Boss PH2 > FL9 > Ibanez DE7 > TC Nova Repeater > Xotic EP booster

FX loop: Boomerang Phrase sampler v1