Bob Weir

Started by Heady Jam Fan, June 05, 2015, 09:17:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Heady Jam Fan

I just watched a documentary about Bob Weir on Netflix - it was pretty awesome. When I think back to a lot of my favorite parts of Dead tunes, its Weir's rhythm work and glassy tone that grabs me. Only now and then do I play those hard-rock "chunking" power chords through a song, but rather try to play more tasteful chords with interesting inversions that provide their own melodic movement. I probably owe a lot of that to Weir and Trey.

Anyway, I saw part of this clip on the documentary and thought it was a cool interpretation of the song Lost Sailor, so I started learning a bit of this acoustic version the other day:

https://youtu.be/50nFDYNQ_-c
Headless Hollowbody > Mesa Boogie MK III > TRM Trucker 212 w/ V30's
Whammy 5 > Mini Wah > 74 Script Phase 90 > CP9Pro+ > 82 TS9 > 83 TS9 > Ross Compressor > Turbo-Tuner > 83 AD9

Walker done done

Saw it too and while it wasn't anything groundbreaking, I definitely loved it.  I've always loved Bobby and agree wholeheartedly with your statement about chord inversions, his tone, and his overall approach.  Anyone learning guitar should make it a point to study Bob Weir.  And also, good luck with it.  The dude has huge hands and can do thinks most players can't, but you'll still learn a lot from his approach.
Guitars: Resurrection Phishy Hollowbody (koa top/back, cedar sides, Schaller Golden 50 pups, 2 series/single coil/parallel switches), Gibson SG Faded, Dean Evo, Fender Tele, Ovation Acoustic, Fender Acoustic

Signal Path: Garmopat-modded Vox V847 wah > Emma Discumbobulator > TS808 silver > TS9 silver > Ross Compressor (grey) > Alesis Microverb (reverb) > Mesa Boogie Mark III with custom 2x12 AO cabinet (speakers: Tone Tubby & Emminence Commonwealth).

Loop 1: Whammy II > Nova Delay
Loop 2: Alesis Microverb (reverse) > Ibanez DM2000 > CAE Super Trem > Black Cat Vibe
Loop 3 Boomerang+
Tuner: Boss TU-3